## Directors from the past 100 Years of

## MilitaryReview

From 1922 to June 1929, the primary editors of the *Instructors' Summary of Military Articles* were not identified in the publication. In the September 1929 edition, the editorship was first attributed to the "Command and General Staff School Library" without listing the names of persons compiling and editing the publication. Compilation and editorship of the publication was first attributed to a library committee in March 1932. Without noting a lead editor, the names listed were Col. J. A. Woodruff, Col. F. Keller, Lt. Col. S. J. Sutherland, Lt. Col. A. W. Lane, and Maj. C. A. Willoughby.

In September 1933, Willoughby was named as the first officially designated editor of the publication among the listed committee members. Mention of library committee members other than the editor was discontinued in the June 1934 edition, in which Willoughby was listed exclusively as the editor for the publication. Subsequently, the senior editor and journal staff have been listed by name in all following editions of the publication to the present. From Willoughby to our current editor in chief, Col. Jacob M. Brown, forty-one officers have served as editor in chief of *Military Review*.



**Lt. Col. Ezra B. Fuller, Retired**January 1922–July 1922



Lt. Col. Arthur M. Ferguson, Retired July 1922—February 1923



**Lt. Col. Louis J. VanSchaick** February 1923—July 1923



Lt. Col. Alfred Brandt July 1923—August 1927



Maj. Woodell A. Pickering August 1927—July 1931



**Col. Frank Keller** March 1932–June 1934



Col. James A. Woodruff March 1932–June 1934



Maj. Arthur W. Lane March 1932—June 1934



Maj. Samuel J. Sutherland March 1932—June 1934



**Maj. Charles A. Willoughby**June 1933—December 1934



**Maj. Arthur Vollmer** May 1934—June 1934



**Maj. Fred During**March 1935—June 1937



**Lt. Col. Paul R. Davison**Sept. 1937—March 1939



**Col. Enrique M. Benitez** June 1939—September 1940



Capt. Malcolm R. Kammerer December 1940



**Col. Frederick M. Barrows** March 1941–Dec. 1945



**Col. Ramon Antonio Nadal** August 1946–March 1949



**Col. Harold Robert Emery** April 1949—February 1952



Lt. Col. Donald Linscott Durfee March 1952—August 1955



**Lt. Col. William De Laney McDowell**September 1955–June 1957



Col. Rodger Russell Bankson July 1957–October 1959



**Lt. Col. George Babington Macaulay**Nov. 1959—February 1960



**Col. Kenneth Earl Lay** March 1960—July 1964



Lt. Col. Albert Nutter Garland August 1964—Sept. 1964



**Col. Donald James Delaney**Oct. 1964—February 1972



Col. Orville Wells Martin Jr. March 1972—May 1974



**Lt. Col. Rufus Glenn McCue**June 1974—September 1974



**Col. John Howell Chitty Jr.**October 1974–July 1976



Lt. Col. Joseph Earl Burlas August 1976—Sept. 1976



**Col. Ruby Rose Stauber** October 1976—August 1977



**Col. Edward M. Bradford** September 1977—June 1980



**Lt. Col. Ernest L. Webb**July 1980–August 1980



**Col. John D. Bloom** September 1980–July 1984



Lt. Col. Dallas Van Hoose Jr. August 1984—June 1985



Col. Frederick W. Timmerman, Jr. June 1985—February 1987



Col. Phillip W. Childress July 1987—July 1990



**Col. Steven F. Rausch** August 1990—July 1992



**Lt. Col. Ronald N. Mazzia**August 1992—March 1993



**Col. John W. Reitz** April 1993—July 1995



Col. Richard M. Bridges August 1995—Sept. 1996



Lt. Col. George L. Humphries October 1996—May 1997



**Col. Lee J. Hockman** June 1997—June 2001



**Col. Melanie R. Reeder**July 2001–August 2003



**Col. William M. Darley** Sept. 2003—March 2008



**Col. John J. Smith**July 2008–June 2013



**Col. Anna R. Friederich- Maggard**June 2013–June 2016



**Lt. Col. Erica L. Cameron**September 2016—April 2017



**Col. Katherine Guttormsen**September 2017—May 2020



**Col. Paul E. Berg**May 2020—December 2020



**Col. Jacob M. Brown**December 2020—Present