AU Films Presents


Wet Gap Crossing Fundamentals

Published on: January 10, 2023


This is an excerpt from the documentary film “France ’44: The Wet Gap Crossings at Nancy.” This segment teaches the five phases of a wet gap crossing. The five phases are: 1) Advance to the Gap, 2) Assault Across the Gap, 3) Advance from the Farside, 4) Secure the Bridgehead Line, 5) Continue the Attack.  Based on doctrine from FM 3-34 and ATP 3-90.4, this clip was approved by the Combined Arms Doctrine Directorate (CADD) and is used at the Command and General Staff College (CGSC). 
Click here to watch the full-length film:

Download Information

A DVIDS account is required to be able to log in and download. If you need to register for an account click here.

This video is available for download at a variety of sizes and qualities on the Defense Visual Information Distribution Service (DVIDS) website.

It is our recommendation the viewer download the highest resolution their bandwidth can handle.